Jeep security measures

BSA WM20

Whilst serving in Germany on a couple of occasions when travelling on the autobahn and pulled into the rest stations I have come accross the American Forces Jeeps where the steering wheel had a chain and padlock on it as a deterrent which to me is a cheap and easy solution.

Yes there are lots of ways to deter them , I have seen at a show an eye bolt on the dash in front of the gear lever with a small padlock through this an the gear lever, quite unobtrusive. You will never stop the determined thief but can make it safer when at the shows.

Just so I know where mine is all the time and to record all journeys I have a subscription free tracker on mine. I know if it moves and if anyone cuts the power I get an immediate text to my mobile and an email. I can always follow it live on the web and can see it from any computer (password needed)

For £300.00 it has enabled me to rest easy. http://visionairegps.co.uk/

Whilst serving in Germany on a couple of occasions when travelling on the autobahn and pulled into the rest stations I have come accross the American Forces Jeeps where the steering wheel had a chain and padlock on it as a deterrent which to me is a cheap and easy solution.

I always do that with my old Landrovers now.....

....easy and cheap and effective....

a length of load chain .. a big padlock......wrap it through the spokes of the wheel and down under and back up from the pedals :)..

I've always worked on the idea that if someone wants your bike/truck whatever they will get it.....

but........the idea is to make it as awkward and time consuming as absolutely possible to get it.

.......then hopefully they will look at it and think

" aw bugger.it's gonna take ages and be very noisy to cut that lot off " :-)

I apply the same idea to all my bikes in their garage.mind you the downside is it takes me half an hour to undo every lock and chain and cable and disk lock etc just to get a bike out for a ride !