'World On Fire" TV programme......

matchlesswdg3

Don't know if any of you have been following this extremely turgid and revisionist BBC "drama".  Well done, if you have; maybe like me interested in seeing how the Beeb would grapple with getting the events of 1940 onto the small screen, including Dunkirk!  It is amazing how CGA has boosted the ability to recreate spectacular scenes, even if the plot is as spectacularly silly!  Interesting to to see the peppering of real MVs used (anyone here involved?).  I am no expert but for the most part, they seem OK for the period.  But why oh why did they feature a QLR nicely fitted out with orange turn lights?  Will now be fun looking for other anachronisms!  (Other than the whole plot, of course, which drips with 21st century values).

image.jpeg

I saw that too, together with the very fake looking broken windscreen.  99% of the population would have not noticed and there is a limit to how realistic one can be with borrowed vehicles. At least it was a QL not an RL unlike a WW2 scene I remember watching.

Have a read about the errors in the film about the great train robbery, I seem to remember the RL was an ex AFS vehicle which would not have been released at the time.

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt2774184/goofs

23 hours ago, radiomike7 said:

Have a read about the errors in the film about the great train robbery, I seem to remember the RL was an ex AFS vehicle which would not have been released at the time.

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt2774184/goofs

The Train robbers used an Austin Loadstar, not a Bedford RL,  and they had Ser.1 & 2 Landrovers,

Edited by Nick Johns

Utter tripe! That officer chap seems never to have a hat on. A sergeant with his webbing in disarray and no hat, saluting with no hat, respirator (gas mask) case nearly down to their waist belts, rifle sling on the wrong way and did French colonial troops have tommy guns ? One of the biggest was having northern France next to Poland....