Ferret News

Morning All, I have just bought a Ferret 2/4; which has made Val roll her eyes a bit but she is very understanding. I have got the manual but this is a new venture for me and any advice re keeping batteries charged and gearbox healthy would be greatly appreciated. I am in Maidstone, Kent.

Right you lot!

Val is my lovely wife, who has put up with me for 6 years but now has doubts about the Ferret.

Sirhc - you really are talking to a novice here. What is GCP and where do you suggest breaking into the circuit to put the isolator switch. On a similar theme, where do you suggest putting an electric fuel pump and where can I get a 24 volt one from.

Dave

David,

Before touching your Ferret read through the manual thoroughly. I also suggest reading the parts book and familiarising yourself with what the bits are, how the go together and how they work. You will need to take things apart so it's better to have an idea of how it all fits together now.

The most important point is that the GCP is the Gear Change Pedal. It is not a clutch. Do not use it like a clutch.

I fitted one of these:

http://www.vehicle-wiring-products.co.uk/VWPweb2000/battisol/battisol.html

To the RH battery box in between the -ve battery terminal and lead. They fit through the vent holes, you will need to drill 2 bolt holes to fix it in place. You will also require a lead between the battery and switch, fit the existing lead to the other terminal on the switch. This will prevent the interior lights, intercom etc from draining the batteries.

I've never had a problem with the mechanical pump, but if I wanted to fit an electronic one I'd use one of the plugs near the generator panel, probably the ignition line.

Hope this helps,

Chris

Hi Dave,

We are virtually next door!! I'm in Gillingham, also got a 2/4 ( Good Choice) Also my wife Loves the little beasty!!

As for isolator, Negative lead I believe!!