Work at last!!!

ArtistsRifles

After 3.5 years out of work (and no state assistance whatsoever) I finally got a short term job this morning - an agency rang wanting me to start tomorrow. Humorous part is I am a skilled Oracle DBA and Intel/Unix server administrator - and the job is off-loading old telecomms gear to be recycled and banging the details into an excel spreadsheet.

Oh well - at least it is money coming in - even if the tax man will take half of it -for 3 months!!

Wil pay for my fuel next year and any other bits and pieces for the vehicles. :D

That's good news mate.

It's better to be in work doing anything than out of work doing nothing. At least it will look better when you apply for another job.

Not so sure about that part - my area of expertise is as an Oracle DBA - I'm not too sure how a prospective employer will like reading a CV from a DBA who's last job was hand-balling comms racks and noting the serial numbers down... But it pays some of the bills and it keeps me occupied :D

Edited by ArtistsRifles

Not so sure about that part - my area of expertise is as an Oracle DBA - I'm not too sure how a prospective employer will like reading a CV from a DBA who's last job was hand-balling comms racks and noting the serial numbers down... But it pays some of the bills and it keeps me occupied :D

My point Neil is that at least it shows you got off your ar*e and got some work rather than sponging on the State. In these hard times there are a lot of people that can't get a job that they were doing before they were made unemployed.