Master Disconnect Switch

Hi All

Stupid moment again :shock: I want to fit a master disconnect switch to stop any chance of the battery draining, my question is, what side of the battery does it go on, the live or earth side :?: it will also act as a deterrent for other people to drive away with it.

I would have thought it went in the live side of the circuit - otherwise it could by-passed either by something shorting to earth or, if talking security, by simply earthing the battery terminal elsewhere........

But I'm not an electrician so could be talking a load of <censored> here!!

All the vehicles that we have fitted in work have the "kill" switch in the chassis line. So negative if that is your chassis connection. This is done so that you don't have a live end floating about should the wire come off the switch. I know it sounds a bit odd, but it works fine that way.

Try to keep all the wire short and as heavy as possible. It's possible to lose a lot of volts across a 10m/m cable a foot long when starting.

If you look on ebay in Land Rover spares or military spares there are usually several military battery isolators with leads attached. One end has a battery terminal for the negative post and the other a post which fits in the connector on the end of the existing negative lead. The leads are about 18" long so plenty of scope to put the isolator where you like with no connectons to crimp up. Price is about £7 - 10 plus postage.

Just one word of caution. This doesn't matter if you have a dynamo but if you have an alternaor make sure there is no liklihood of the battery being isolated with the engine running.

The battery acts as a load & a sort of smoothing condenser. If the battery is not connected the voltage output from the alternator will rise & may destroy its diodes or other semiconductor equipment you have connected.