Ferret Brakes

smashycrashy

I have acquired a Ferret that has been relatively stationary for the past 25 years. The owner would pull it out of its shed once a month to run the engine otherwise it really wasn't driven (~350 miles in 25 years).

The brake pedal is currently very "hard" and stuck in the "up" position.

I've read the following regarding unsticking brakes:

http://www.ferretforums.net/phpBB/viewtopic.php?p=17&sid=891407cadfd8c9f5567b489bda5a93e8

And this as well:

http://www.smokingairplanes.com/DAIMLERFERRETMAINTENANCEBRAKESCYLINDERWHEELHUBASSEMBLYENGINE.htm

I posted over in Ferret heaven and someone mentioned just pumping the brakes hard.

But as I like to get as much info and opinions as possible (as I am very new to all of this) I was wondering how people here would go about diagnosing and fixing the "hard" brake pedal issue.

Hi,

Its likely that every wheel cylinder and the master cylinder will need overhauling.

Go to each wheel cylinder and see if you can turn the brake bleed nipple. If you can't then the cylinder will need replacing as the bleed nipple is seized and if forced will likely break off. The brake nipples and cylinders are exactly the same on every wheel station, other parts may not be.

Personally, after a similar experience, I would remove each cylinder (if serviceable) and get them lined with stainless steel. The same with the master cylinder. Renew the rubber seals in all cylinders - Oh and don't forget the flexible brake pipes, any signs of perishing renew them.

Damage or deterioration may be hidden by paint as was the case with our Ferret when one pipe broke when I twisted it!

New master cylinders can be obtained off ebay for around £60.

It's also worth taking off the brake drums to check for any sign of oil contamination (which may occur if the wheel gearbox was overfilled as in our case) and or wear. At the same time LIGHTLY lubricate the adjuster mechanism.