Hello from Devon

Hi All!

My names Rich and I'm a farmer from North Devon. Thought I'd better join up here and say hello. I've just bought my first military vehicle from a local auction, after years of longing for a classic commercial of some kind. Please bear with me on the stupidity front, but I beleive I have got a Commer Q4, which once served in the Devon section of the AFS. Its fitted with the remains of a dropside body, and was last run 20 years ago. 400 quid lighter and I'm pleased as punch, will be even more pleased if I can get it to run!

Cheers

Rich

Nice looking truck. Looks fairly sound too. Good luck with getting it to run. Beware though.......... we are all as eager as you to see it running and will pester the life out of you until it is. You picked a good time to buy it; sort of in between silage and hay, so will you be starting on it this week....:-D See, we've started already. :cool2:

It may be a good idea to check your video camera is fully charged and you are fully conversant with how to post video on this loony website.

Cheers and good luck. Will. :thumbsup:

Thanks again! It does seem to be in good condition, but I dare say further investigation will reveal the shocking truth.... I fully intend to start restoration immediatley, I have 9000 free range chickens so theres a few eggs to collect first. Silaging is all done and its raining so I wont be out on the bike!

Rust seems confined to door bottoms and around the rear quarters of the cab, time to brush up on my tig welding skills? If I could get it running it would keep my mind at rest. At least I could drive it in and out of the barn when the telehandler needs to come out, and I wouldnt be worried about the rain making the old girl disintegrate any more.

Please feel free to badger me about progress, I'm determined to get it on the road for the Holsworthy vintage rally next year!