Antar Running Problem

Hi everyone,

I own a Mark 2 Antar which has the meteorite 204 V8 petrol engine. I've had this since July this year and have spent a lot of time on it. It was previously in a field in Dorset. I've got so far as to get it running and have had it too a few shows - will post some pics when I work out how to. Would welcome any help with the problem I have, it will run till warm and then cuts out. If you leave it to cool for about 10 mins then it starts up fine again, only to do the same thing when its up to temp again.

Any ideas would be gratefully recieved as I have tried everything I can think of so far and have reached a dead end. I have'nt put what I've tried so far as I don't want to discount anything at all at the moment as I might have missed something on the way. I'm not a complete novice but I must be missing something.

Kevin

I would think with two magnetos and two plugs per cylinder it would be odd to have a fault on each system, that brings the engine to a halt. The Booster coil should only be working whilst the starter motors are cranking, but have you checked it is working as it should? (and that I believe only works on the Magneto wired to the Inlet Manifold side plugs. The Magneto running the Exhaust manifold side plugs does not have a booster coil.

ignitionfaultfinding.jpg

I would have thought maybe fuel. perhaps a blocked breather to the fuel tank, and when a certain amount of fuel has been used and a vacuum has built up in the tank then fuel starvation follows. In the time the engine is being left to cool, air gradually find its way back into to the tank, and you are able to restart.

(but even that seems unlikely.) Does it happen if you have the fuel tank filler open? Have you tried to open the filler as soon as the engine has died and heard a rush of air into the tank?

Faultfinding2.jpg

Will the engine run for as long as it normally does, with "A" magneto shorted, and will it also run with "B" magneto shorted?.