Was there a 'standard' reconditioning procedure?

No Signals

While working on my Bedford, under the gunge I've found a small plate recording the engine being reconditioned by Vauxhall Motors in '2. 50', which I take as Feb 1950. Not having Service experience I've no knowledge of what might have been standard practise but I'm surprised this wasn't done by the forces own workshops. Were there certain jobs done at certain times 'in house' but during other periods it was considered cheaper/more expediant / whatever to get a factory job done? Also found under the gunge that the engine number is not what is on the logbook so I must get that seen to as soon as everything opens back up!

While working on my Bedford, under the gunge I've found a small plate recording the engine being reconditioned by Vauxhall Motors in '2. 50', which I take as Feb 1950. Not having Service experience I've no knowledge of what might have been standard practise but I'm surprised this wasn't done by the forces own workshops. Were there certain jobs done at certain times 'in house' but during other periods it was considered cheaper/more expediant / whatever to get a factory job done? Also found under the gunge that the engine number is not what is on the logbook so I must get that seen to as soon as everything opens back up!

As your engine number in the log book does not coincide with the fitted engine, a Vauxhall rebuild, it might be that this present engine was infact, a factory exchange unit that was fitted while in civvy use. Unless of course, it is painted in Eau-de-nil or Sky Blue colour. Vauxhall exchange engine colour was black.