Hello there!

Timinder

Hi, I've recently found this forum and have been

reading through as many old posts as I can - very interesting stuff!

I 've long had a fascination for military vehicles (what little boy doesn't?) but never actually got round to doing anything about it.

A little about me:

I'm a design engineer working mostly with wooden furniture at the moment, but have done all sorts in my time. I play about with Classic (ish) cars a bit and am involved in the ATC as a VRT officer, mostly teaching weapons handling and general shooting type activities.

I've recently started hankering after some sort of MV, and my eye is drawn mainly towards post-war British kit - I suppose because I've seen quite a bit of it being used on the telly growing up, and also as a young Air Cadet.

I suppose my question would be better answered in the main forum, but what would be a good choice for an 'entry-level' MV in terms of ease of maintenance, cost (purchase and running) etc? (apart from Landies - nothing against them per se, I just prefer something less common!)

Cheers

Tim

Well Tim try a Land Rover 101. Apart from armour or really big stuff, as far as the British Army post war Landy did most of it. Why not do the sensible and Buy a Dodge WC51 weapons Carrier, as a design engineer you will fall in love with the beautifully thought out enginerring. Everything is designed for purpuose, with old fashioned love and skill..............:sleep:

Hey Tim,

I'm not quite sure what you mean by Land Rovers being a bit common. Some are, but that's more to do with how they've been brought up. Anyway, you're dead right about post war stuff. In fact, it was predicted as long ago as 1944 that PW vehicles would be the most desirable.

Hey Tim,