Fording Trials Branch REME

Keith Sanders

I worked as a civilian driver at FTB for 12 years before the unit was taken over by the Royal Marines in 1979. for most of that time I was driving the Scammell recovery, including a trip from Instow to Harrogate and several trips to Aldershot, all towing the lowloader trailer with a load. I also drove a Stalwart, including an amphibious landing in Northern Ireland.

Keith,

welcome to the forum. I do hope you have many memories of vehicles that you can share, and wonder beyond all hope if you have pictures of anything that you did.

I have had the privilege of visiting what was ATTURM and it was a fascinating place.

Look forward to your future posts

Hi Keith,

I got involved in wading trials with MVEE - we originally did a comparison trial between a County Tractor and a Muir Hill 171 for use on the Landing Craft Logistics - decided that the County was too light and done full wading trials on the Muir Hill. It was the most fun that I ever had whilst actually getting paid for it! Attached images show the Muir Hill 171 on beach trials and the vehicle as it entered service (we purchased 3). In order to meet the requirements, Muir Hill had to lengthen the wheelbase to stop the annoying habit of the nose rearing up whilst shunting trailers onto the ship.

Regards - David

yellow171wading1.jpg

yellow171wading2.jpg

green171wading.jpg

• Like 2

Hi Robin,