CVR(T) 65216 Down under

Hi All , 

Thought i had better better start a Restoration Blog here so that i have the story of 65216 recorded somewhere and so you guys can see my mistakes and the problems i find . 

Some of you will have probably seen my posts on the CVRT Appreciation group on Facebook already so hopefully  i wont bore you reposting photos here . 

65216 is an Ex-Belgian Scimitar which from what i have been able to find out went to the UK after disposal , it was then partially dismantled before being sold to a fellow in Western Australia . From there it passed through a couple of owners until i purchased it from a Gent in Queensland . 

The photos show 65216 as it was when i purchased it  and its arrival to my Farm in Victoria  in a 20ft container . 

A bit of background about me , I am a Farmer near Ballarat Victoria and also own a Centurion ARV 169114 in running condition  as well as a Lp2a Carrier  project that will be started once the Scimitar is finished . 

James .

IMG_1246.JPG

IMG_1256.JPG

IMG_1261.JPG

IMG_1266 - Copy.JPG

IMG_1290.JPG

IMG_1293.JPG

• Like 2

Welcome. 

I wound up with 65247, they likely shared the same warehouse for a time and may also have served in Somalia or Rwanda together.  Are you thinking to restore 65216 to UN-livery, or going another direction?

I wound up taking her down to a bare hull and when I'm not working on my running Ferret or almost-driving Spartan am still picking at the project.  Your 65216 has a number of parts I was missing but might lack others.  I had severe water damage which led to a lot of rot and also ruptured torsion bar tunnels.  Make sure to check your motor mounts as they may have separated or are about to.  Also, expect most or all of your axle stubs to be trashed if yours saw similar neglect to the other Belgian UN CVR(T) I'm aware of.

• Like 1

Thanks for the Welcome John1950 and Teletech .