17 pdr

Transfer from another thread.

This is my 17 pdr ,pics taken last year.

It is now finished with its accessories,the sight assembly I have on it was removed from an Iraqi National guard 17 pdr that was used in the Gulf War.

So it has travelled a very long way !

Rob .............rnixartillery.

Picture 453.jpg

Picture 457.jpg

Picture 458.jpg

Picture 462.jpg

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

The gun was striped right down and refurbed,there was a bent trail and light fire damage other than that it had been robbed of componants,sight assembly etc.

I have been collecting parts for this project for about 10 years and its now complete thanks to a colleague locating the sight mount whilst out and about in Iraq.!

What a fabulous piece. I often wonder how WW2 weapons would cope against modern tanks. As the 17pdr could take out a Tiger i wonder how it would have got on against the likes of Chieftan, Warrior or Challenger. As the one on which the site was attached had been in the Gulf war it may well have had this opportunity.

Tim

Yes ,it was only by chance the 17 pdr sight mount came along.

I was at the time restoring my 105mm L5 pack howitzer and looking for a looooong list of bits for it ,I contacted a colleague in the states with a wants list and he sent me pictures of long lines of artillery captured during conflict in Iraq.

In the photographs it showed artillery lined up ready to be de-commisioned and then cut up,in these pics were 105mm L5's ,25/17 pounders and an assortment of German Artillery pieces dating back to WWI.

The Iraqi national guard may aswell been throwing stones at the allied armour !!!!!

100s_Malara.JPG

25pdrLimber.JPG

25pdrside.JPG

I think the last Europan user of 17pdr was Denmark until 1970 when M10Cs were decommisioned and from what has been said they used the ammunition in one last training bash.