Re: How easy to convert a CJ to a Willys??

Danny152

Not my normal cup of tea but away at the moment in the US and came across a knackered CJ I believe it is?? I know the tub is different but how similar is the rest of the Jeep, chassis, engine, axle etc?

Can send you a pic if you wish to check the model, my email address is burt.danny@yahoo.co.uk

Any advice from you Jeep experts out there?

Cheers for your help?

Regards

Danny

Depends what model CJ you are looking at. Assume you plan to fit a repro tub on a later chassis? I'm not a Jeep expert, but I can tell you that among the differences between a CJ3A and a wartime model are:

1. Radiator mounted each side to front grille on CJ3A - at bottom on crossmember on wartime so if using wartime tub need to fit mounting plats to front grille
  2. Heavier gearbox - may need to tweak floor pan ever-so-slightly on a wartime tub to fit (and modify centre crossmember??)
  3. Rear shock absorbers mounted differently (not a big job to make new brackets)
  4. Rear axle is heavier duty
  5. Brake drums are slightly wider
  6. Fuel tank is side fill - if using wartime tub then fit a wartime top fill tank
  7. Driver's seat frame about 4" higher on CJ3A (more comfortable :D)
  8. Engine is a bit tougher too

Probably more but you'll need to wait for an expert to come along :blush:

Edited by N.O.S.

The most notable differences are (in addition to whats been covered)

The grill: CJ has 'bug eye' headlamps, MB/GPWs were recessed behind the grill.

The windshield.

Rims (CJ rims are slotted, combat rims were sold disk)

The drivers side on a jeep has indents for the shovel/axe mounting.

The MB would have had a the pintal hook and bumperettes.

Mechanically you have to get pretty deep into the workings:

gear driven cam vs chain (certain parts will run 'backwards' compared to a GoDevil jeep engine)

the electrical harness will be different

If it has the original engine there will a large cantankerous governor