ASC or RASC Trucks . Longmoor Military Railway .

Morris C8

My feet just came out in blisters and my brow in a cold sweat.

I did my last ever Combat Fitness Test at Longmoor either late 88 or early 89 (the entire computer centre staff less essentials went off to play soldiers for a week and decided a CFT would be good to include). The CFT involved an 8-mile squadded walk/run in two hours followed by some other tests (phase 2 was to carry an oppo of the same size and weight with both sets of equipment in a fireman's lift over 100m; phase 3 was special to arm: being RAPC, some wit decided that phase 3 would be "Get on the truck; get off the truck" so we did just that ... except that after all this, "Get off the truck" amounted to "step off the back of the truck and don't give a toss how you land cos the CFT is finished when you hit the deck.

The kit included 35lb of webbing, personal weapon and so on. Done in full combats.

The run started off well enough except that:

1. It was routed round the old (now lifted) railway line. Nice and level, but we were running on hard core. Eventually I lost touch with the racing snakes.

2. It turned out that the route was only about seven miles long, so the PTI had thrown in a one-mile loop at the end. So as I staggered up toward the end, I found a PTI who (assuming I was coming off the loop) told me I was still in time if I puched. I didn't have the heart (or the breath) to tell him I'd only done seven miles.

Having broken the back of Phase 1 (by cheating, albeit accidentally), I found my second wind for Phase 2. But trust me, the sight of a Bedford to climb up nearly broke my heart. Only nearly though. And as I said, 15 stone of me stepping back off hurt when I got back down.

Next day, last day of the exercise, I spent having me blisters syringed while the youngsters got to play with bayonets. I didn't care about the bayonet drills: the young female medic was more than welcome to caress my weary feet.