Unit Markings?

gary0003

Hello Gary,

You have a very nice and original looking WD/CO, is it an early one? (Early type frame and rectangular toolbox).

Regards the numbered flash, the green over blue is a Reconnaissance unit, but the 76 is normally allocated to Royal Artillery units.. I’m no expert but the Combination looks like it could be fictitious.

I’ve attached an armoured division series of unit flashes, in case you want to correct yours.

Regards,

Tom

278414B3-D46C-4B6B-B77A-CB7634A45931.png

• Like 1

Hi Tom, thank you very much for your help. It was issued to the army in March 44 and came out of a barn with 2 other ww2 bikes in similar condition. It has not been restored I don’t think and still had much of the original equipment- pannier racks etc. It was supposedly returned to R/E factory in 1946 for re-furbishment and being sold off.

thanks again

Gary

76 on green over blue is listed as the junior armoured car regiment for Armoured Divisions, Middle East Forces from 21/9/41. Is there a divisional sign on the other side of the tank?

The Chilwell list shows C5108998 to be from contract C12425.

Edited by simon king

If the C number is correct and if I've got my calculations right, it should be frame number 10798? and would have been delivered by early 42.  As far as I know, only the first contract CO's were fitted with the square toolbox. Although I've fitted one to my 43 CO as I hated the gap that it leaves. 

A lot of bikes went back to Royal Enfield after the war, for re-manufacture into civilian trim and often the frames and engines were re-stamped. The fork side check springs weren't a feature on early contracts. I'd say yours is a post war restoration?

Ron