Ferret brakes

tankdiver

Ferret brake are poor at any time.

As an ex mechanic I have worked on HGV PLANT and cars

I have had several ferrets and done the brakes on all of them but this one is really playing me up. The brakes had sticking wheel cylinders on one side the other side the wheel was not working at all, so an easy solution get the cylinders off and free the piston .

This done, then applied the brake to check brake balance and the two brackets that hold the shaft that the foot pedal move on just broke and the pedal went straight to the floor. More work I fabricated a couple as no one seemed to have any due to the metal fatigue 8 hr later a couple of stronger steel ones fitted .Never had this problem before

Next poor hand brake first adjust all wheels, then adjust cables. I disconnected all the cables and adjusted each one and then tried to finely balance them all . This is not as easy on this Ferret as after hours of checking the balance I can get one rear fully working ,fronts just touching and the other rear considering operating .All the cylinders and linkage is ok has any other members had a problem with the hand brake not balancing

Laurence

Laurence just a thought are your brake shoe adjusters all ok? The mechanism is the same for Pigs & there were problems with both the phosphor bronze & steel types due to fracturing of the sleeve wall on the adjuster inner wheel or seizing on apply the brakes. There were a couple of urgent (blue) EMERs issued in 1982-3 about this, I don't know if there was an issue flagged up on Ferrets as well.

• 2 weeks later...
Brake adjusters are all working and lock up the brakes .I fully adjusted the brakes and centalised them by hitting the brum with a copper hammer . On other 50s vehicles they used a brake balancing bar but this is an army vehicle ////