German Morris?

Chappers

Hi Chappers,

yes it is, maybe a C4 or CS8? Not sure. Many British vehicles were abandoned following the evacuation from Dunkirk in 1940, some in such great numbers that the Germans did standard modifications and even assigned them their own 'kfz' number, effectively giving them a new identity, albeit for the other side! Im no expert on this subject, and currently Im stuck 2000 miles from all my MV reference books, but I know a man who knows all about these captured Brit vehicles...........

Yes it is an early one as G506 said, more than likely from Dunkirk. There are plenty examples of this, a common modification was to put a new windscreen surround on as this one. Instead of the lift up flap they replaced it with one that completely folded down. Probably a good bit of design as even with the lift up flaps on the allied ones it still got bloody hot in the cab!

• 2 weeks later...

Just to add to this thread ( quiet spell at work!), I have been looking at this, and agree that, yes, the germans did designate them with a KFz number. The Morris was a popular choice for a personnel body carrier conversion, or, "umbauwagen". So much so, that they had a standard body which fitted on the back.

width=640 height=455http://i117.photobucket.com/albums/o72/rik242_2006/scan222.jpg[/img]

Acknowledgements to another website this photo and info came from!

It would be a brave soul who would operate one on the MV scene in German style, given the paucity. Mind you, if someone were to convert an old garage recovery motor back to MV standard it would be an interesting project. Trying to think how many of them I've seen, though!.........

There was a Bedford in German Afrika Corps camo at Beltring a few years back - looked very good.

True, think it was an OX,.............brave choice seeing as there so few of that particular bedford in preservation, even in allied markings.............