Starter Jeep advice

IdleBaldy

Hi all,

I am new to the MV world, and am considering my first purchase at the moment.

I have been researching where to start for a few months now - been to a few MV shows, shipped and read Ren Bernier's guide from the US etc etc.

Ideally I would like to get to an authentic WW2 GPW, but I am a realist and with my extremely limited mechanical knowledge, I suspect it would be better to start with something more modern.

I thinking reliability is more important than authenticity for my first MV.

So I would like to know if I am better to go with a Hotchkiss M201 or M38 to start with while I build experience and networks (assuming these are likely to require less input than an old gem).

It seems there are more cheaper runners available and less pitfalls with the more modern options for a clueless starter.

Can anyone offer advice?

I'd suggest two options:

1. If you've got your heart set on a GPW, just buy one. Getting what you really want can be very cathartic and you can either learn the mechanical side of things (stuff like an old Jeep can be a bit finicky, but they are mechanically very simple and are relatively easy to work on); or you can pay someone else to maintain it.
  2. Get something like a Land Rover. They're cheap, plentiful, relatively easy to work on and they're a very good car.

Cheers,

Terry