Condenser Longevity?

Jessie The Jeep

Question

How long on average do your ignition condensers last. I've had some that seem to go on for ages, while the life of others can be compared to rare sub-atomic particals! I put a new one on the Dodge at the beginning of February, and have just had to change it today after only 752 miles.

I'm no expert on these little silver sausages, but seven months and 750 miles seems a bit pants!

What's been your experience of their life expectancy?

18 answers to this question

How long on average do your ignition condensers last. I've had some that seem to go on for ages, while the life of others can be compared to rare sub-atomic particals! I put a new one on the Dodge at the beginning of February, and have just had to change it today after only 752 miles.

I'm no expert on these little silver sausages, but seven months and 750 miles seems a bit pants!

What's been your experience of their life expectancy?

Thinking back to my shop floor days in the RAF, On Ford industrial engines, plugs, points & condenser were all changed at the same time, either annually or every 10k miles or on static kit about 350 hours running, not changing the condenser leads to reduced points life. condensers hate damp so your's may have been stored in the damp ??

TED

It is immaterial whether it's 6, 12 or 24v. Condenser is usually rated at 500v to absorb the back EMF as the points open & magnetic field collapses. It matters not what voltage the primary winding is designed to work off. The spark at the points is this back EMF. If they fail so rapidly are you certain that they are proper distributor condensers? BTW am at GDSF, 3G clogged up in day. Took 1.25 hours to respond to a PM earlier!

Much as Clive says, older capacitors with paper dialectric are prone to failure through moisture getting inside the casing through ageing end cap seals.