series three, 2.2 diesel...gearbox upgrade help please

paulob1

Question

Hi guys need help getting an easier cruising speed out of this old girl Its a military 2.2 diesel series 3....I was thinking of a higher ratio final drive so it cruises a bit easier. Any one know how to do this or the best option, will a five speed off a new ninety or 110 fit...etc etc.....

18 answers to this question

Guest catweazle (Banned Member)

Royal Navy,but they were civi spec,like a lot of there kit.Except the champ of course.

Easiest way out is an overdrive,hard to come by,There is no cheap option.the engine hasnt enough power to pull itself along the rd let alone higher diffs etc.i should know i have been driving one for 34 yrs.Wait till you get fed up with it then buy a 90.:-D

John,

You must have some paitience to have put up with one of those engines for 34 years, I take my hat off to you :saluting:

Well it was in regular use till 91,then used some time every week but not every day.I have had some great adventure hollidays in it and enjoyed turning down large sums of money for the no plate when people have thought everyone has there price.I dont personally see the value in the plate .Its survived two wives and Pat so far:-D when i think about it i have owned it half my life.:shocked: My mum used to call it ,that old army lorry.

I have of course had lots of cars at the same time so for boring trips etc they were used.i have allways up to recently had an old Range rover kicking about.Viking funeral if it doesnt contravene some polution act.:cool2:

thanks guys, its not for me its a friend...but will tell him the overdrive is the way to go...he has been getting people to quote for re-gearing the box and i have told himthat seems a real waste of time, i did tell him about the fact that it likely wont run a higher ratio and he would be wasting his time...but he is determined to try, you know what some landrover people are like...