RAF Regiment Recce Rovers

chevpol

Hi all, a question.

when did the RAF Regiment field sqns (hereafter called the good guys!!) change from 110 Recce to WMIK?

As a admirer of the good guys, I would like a 110 to go with my 109"ffr when I have the spare cash, mind you, I do like a WMIK but at moment that is out of the window

All the best

Mark :cool:

Im not an expert on these, but i think that the Weapons Mount Installation Kit was a fit for the Wolf/XD110, so the introduction would of been some time shortly after the Wolf XD110/XD90 came into service in 1996.

If anybody finds an original WMIK wolf or later variation that is still driveable i would be surprised, they are getting recycled and rebuilt by a company called Hobsons industries, i think the few that are running around in civvy hands are totally rebuilt B.E.R. wrecks.

Guest catweazle (Banned Member)

Whots new we were doing it 30 yrs ago.

Untitled-Scanned-01-1.jpg

didnt quite have the same facilities though:rofl:

i think the few that are running around in civvy hands are totally rebuilt B.E.R. wrecks.

Adam,

I have one of these. Back in 2003 when they released them they were considered BER. Only a small number were sold off before they realised that most of them could actually be repaired. I don't think they had replacement chassis sections then, but now they do. There's a company in Turkey I believe who is building replacement xD chassis for the MoD. They are now doing dataplate rebuilds on them! The MoD do not have enough of them, which means there won't be any more released for quite some time.

Chris

Rab C Nesbitt and dodgy hatted/vested friend working on the yellow landrover! :rofl:

:rofl::rofl::rofl:The man with the head band became a major player in ex wd l/rovers.he had so many 101s at one time he wrote his name with them in a field and took an ariel shot of the event.This was a long way down the line from here,he nows lives in france but the company is still going.