Battery charging sets.

Help please I've just been give 2 of these sets 1950's British. the idea is to make one work, the other will be left in kit form as part of a static display. I've stripped and cleaned everything, no problem except no spark. not being a magneto expert I've cleaned and tidied everything, it was filthy. Can anyone tell me the procedure to set up timing and ignition or point me in direction of manual please?

Tony,

That looks like a BSA 300 watt charging set. Unless you have disturbed the points mounting plate, the timing should be alright. I do not have any info on these, but used to get a lot in for repair in my past employment. The main troubles we had with them was sticking valves, where they had been stood for a while. The manual, I think, an Clive will confirm, is in EMER Power. A rule of thumb for timing would be points just breaking when piston is 1/16" BTDC. A lot of people do not realise that these sets have form of dynostart, meaning, if there is a battery connected for charging, with a little bit of power in it, by pressing the red button on the panel it will self start, better than snatching away with a frayed old rope! Is the points gap on the data plate attached to flywhhel cover?

Unfortunately mate, the whole lot has been disturbed. I'm impressed the set is exactly what you said. The 2 have diffrent set ups on points etc, so I've swapped the plates to get the best combination of mechanical and electrical, the other set of electrics are finished. Are they 4 stroke? Sorry for silly question but want to make sure I'm doing nothing silly. the Dyna start on the beast goes like the clappers, as you say better than string but less excises. Gaps etc are all on the plate and fortunately visible. Hell of a piece of kit, want it to work, especially in A88 end of nowhere on winter mornings.

Tony