Vibration when driving between 35-45 in MB.

Mike Sharpe

I have an issue of a strong, sometimes, violent vibration when I'm between 35-45 mph. If I then brake to a slow speed say 10mph my jeep comes out of it. Sometimes it shakes the jeep violently and then other times its no where near as bad. I have checked the drive shaft and front wheels to see if anything is lose. Any ideas. I appreciate any help on this. Thank You.

Lots of things, Mike. Has this Jeep been off the road for the winter? Tyres out of round? Front driveshafts / axle dry or faulty joint?

Otherwise, as Wally says, what changed? Where does the vibration come from? Through the seat, frame, steering? High frequency or low frequency? Have you hit something - a pothole?

Ok I'm NO expert so cannot give you the magic answer....BUT when we had a similar problem with our GMC, and after many hours of toil we found that adjusting the steering box sorted our problem. I must add that our wobble could be induced by simply running over the smallest pebble or going over a very small pothole. What ever it takes to sort it, its nice to post the cure to help others, good luck.

I occasionally get a violent shudder through the body at those speeds but feel nothing through the steering it only lasts a few seconds then stops. I have never been able to find the problem either.

Body related vibrations like the one you have described can some times be related to a bent prop shaft or one out of balance or worn splines or worn or failed UJ's or a combination of all of those........ in short it often turns out to be drive line related.

Pete

I have an issue of a strong, sometimes, violent vibration when I'm between 35-45 mph. If I then brake to a slow speed say 10mph my jeep comes out of it. Sometimes it shakes the jeep violently and then other times its no where near as bad. I have checked the drive shaft and front wheels to see if anything is lose. Any ideas. I appreciate any help on this. Thank You.