Canvas maintance - one for Jim Clark...

Jack

Hi Jim.

Thought you would be the man to ask.......

Can you guys give us any tips on looking after/maintaining our canvas on our MV's?

The reason I ask is that a couple of weeks ago I water proofed my cab canvas as I have never done it before and have had it for a couple of years - the rain that we have had this week has tested its waterproof ness ( new word?) and it passed with flying colours.

That lead me on to think about the rest of the canvas that I got from you guys and would like to make sure that I keep it in 1st class condition...

Do you have any tips?

Cheers.

Jack.

I look forward to this answer, .........as well, Jack.

My canvas is 1943 dated,.............and VERY thin in places. (not to mention the holes :whistle:)

And YES, I HAVE spoken to the guys at Allied Forces............(need a bigger piggy bank :cry: :cry:)

Andy

Cheers for that, John.

trip to B&Q looming, i feel................. :roll:

I have just done our ordinary civy tent with the above mentioned stuff from B+Q £9.80 per Gall can, I have used it in the past as well, prviously had problems applying it, but this time got it sussed, use a parraffin gun as per Machine Mart, very low air pressure and high flow rate and give good soaking, our civy frame tent is 20x10x6 feet approx thin cotton material and had not been proofed for about 8 years and used 3 galls of above :schocked: but now wont leak, the more you can get to soak in the better.

With reference to preserving canvas the most important thing I have learnt is not to leave bird poo on it, this seems to be very nasty and on my good canvas rear body, on the top has created some holes you can now get your finger through, so get it scrubbed off as soon as you can.

R Cubed

Jack, why not put it under cover? That's probably best for your canvas and plastic sheets are very cheap!