Radiator Drain Point Markings

Cheshire Steve

Question

Probably known to everyone, but I am new to this. I was cleaning up the front cross-member of my 1956 Land Rover (Rover Mk 5), after winch mounting holes had been replaced with welded-in tubes. As I removed a flakey black coating I came across these markings that line up with the radiator drain tap.

DrainPoint.jpg

First question is whether the marking is DP and the arrow, as it looks like there is a trace of the second letter, but can't make it out, can only see the D for sure.

Next question is whether this is an indication anti-freeze was not in general use in the 1950s, as presumably it was the lack of anti-freeze that required vehicles to be drained when not in use. Or maybe it was just a precaustion in case you couldn't get any.

The double marking is I think due to there being a marking on the original black chassis, which was then overpainted with a thin coat of bronze green, and the chassis re-marked. The top one is the later one and came off first with some more rubbing down.

Any idea when these drain point markings were dropped?

This one was struck off in 1958 to Ministry of Supply.

Steve

11 answers to this question

Officially drain taps should be marked with an arrow DRAIN TAP in 1-in stencil in yellow. In practice this was not always possible & DT was used or even the picture of a stop-cock.

This was on a Pig I had, there was a yellow stop-cock at the top the radiator with a series of arrows leading unsurprisingly to the bottom of the radiator.

App0278_zpsqdzeaqj4.jpg

Thanks very much. I will replace the mark, but more importantly it reminds me that the drain tap is seized so will have to have that off and give it the once over.