fox using gears as handbrake

markbg

Question

hi - well im a bit surprised today - i stopped the engine on the fox today but forgot to change it to neutral - i expected that the fox would roll back on the slope but it didnt move?? i didnt think i could use the gears like on a car to stop the vehicle rolling e.g. on an upward slope i can put the fox in first gear - switch off engine and it doesnt move - so why not do this all the time as i dont trust the hand brake bands to hold the fox?

will this cause any damage parking the fox in gear?

Edited by markbg

12 answers to this question

Not the gears holding the vehicle... sounds like you have a sticking brake.. go for a run then feel the calipers to see if any are hot... it won't be the hand brake that's sticking, if it was you would not be able to see where you were going for the smoke in the cab..

Just hope someone hasn't put brake fluid in the system... I'm an expert at these brakes now :nut:

To see what damage brake fluid can do to an MV that takes OM13 read http://hmvf.co.uk/forumvb/showthread.php?13361-Stalwart-braking-system-amp-other-bits

will this cause any damage parking the fox in gear?

Always park with the Fox in gear..

Edited by Marmite!!

hi - no its mot a sticking brake as if i apply the footbrake the vehicle stops rolling if i release the foot brake the vehicle rolls freely - if i leave in gear and switch off the vehicle stays in place ??

Sounds like it could be a problem with the fluid flywheel then :shocked:

Sounds like it could be a problem with the fluid flywheel then :shocked:

Lee...now you have me worried.

Until I fixed my handbrake, I used to do exactly as Mark is doing. I does not lock the wheels up, but certainly stops it rolling freely on a level or very slight slopes.

It does make me think though, as my understanding of the fluid flywheel is that there is little or no drive transferred at very low (ie zero) engine revs? So the engine should not be holding it?

Mick