Insurance for Harley

Jeepstar

Hi Steve, thanks for replying much appreciated. No I don't have any other bikes, this is the first of I hope many - provided the wife doesn't find out. 

I phoned one insurance company that used to insure the Jeep with, they wanted £311 for laid up policy and £230 for third party fire and theft! Nuts or what? I spoke to my insurance company I'm using for the Jeep and they offered £80 till renewal in March which seemed sensible seeing I'm new to biking. Anyway I might go with them. BTW if I was thinking of buying a British wartime service bike, what would be your choosing? 

Regards Andy

The M20 is the most prolific and robust amongst the WD bikes and reasonably easy for parts. I've had mine over 30 years. (it's 600cc now)  Like Steve, my 741 is not my most favorite bike to ride. You could do worse than join the MVT and get military vehicle insurance deals from firms like 'Roadsure' Adrian Flux' Cherished vehicle insurance' Ect. Ron 

M20 484.jpg

741B 101.jpg

As with all old bikes they are reliable if you look after them, main thing is to have a good magneto for a good spark on Brit bikes.

as Ron said his is a 600 so a fair bit faster than mine but strangely when we was in Normandy his was more economical, to be honest I don't do much over forty because of the brakes, but the Indian is no better

reagrsd steve

Hello Steve and Ron, are you saying the M20 would be the next buy after the Harley? As being the most robust and value for money? Obviously being made in large quantities and having a postwar production does mean it being harder to find a wartime model that is relatively complete of postwar parts. Or am I being picky? BTW Ron I am I the MVT but am a total novice to bikes. I need educating?

Regards Andy

Hi andy