Land Rover Lightweight Questions

Peter4456

I'm new to Lightweights so can anyone answer these questions please:

1) What colour were Land Rover Lightweight seats in 1981 (black or dark grey?)

2) Does the tailgate have a chain and hasp for each section or just one for both?

3) Does anyone have a good quality photo of the Clansman 351 /352 manpack equipment fitted into a Lightweight

Thanks in advance!

Black

one does both parts

If only it were that simple, officially all radios were supposed to be mounted on the the Lightweight "Unitary radio station" which contained the radio batteries etc and was craned onto the vehicle. In practice this was a pain and heavy so there were a lot of unit modifications to standard LR 109 dexion to make it fit and radios were mounted on it in a haphazard way. In NI radios were often just placed between the seats and not even mounted to the vehicle

Look here for diagrams and a lot of other info about lightweights;

http://www.land-rover-lightweight.co.uk/ClansmanE.html

;)

j

If only it were that simple LoL

I see you have FFR 54HG82 RHD FFR production 1980/81 on Contract FVE22A/115/6

Now from the same contracts - I have 52HG33 (Dis 1980 so manuf. a little before) and I think I also have 55HG43 that I believe was 1981.

These were the first with VIN (14 digit) starting LBBA , IIRC after this Contract they were 17 digit VIN starting SALLBBA

There were quite a few changes on HG production , Original Lightweight type axles and some hybrids leading on to the Rationalized axles. Almost certain they all had 10" front drum brakes.

I also have 12 volters 50HG75 (DIS 12/80) AND 48HG31 (DIS Oct. 1980)