Scorpion Restoration

I have just started to have a go at stripping down and rebuilding a Scorpion CVRT. My friends and family recon it is beyound my time and patients so here goes........

One week in and i have the engine panels off etc and i'm hoping to work out how to get the seized J60 engine out.

I have used about 5 lires of diesel to loosen off rusty bolts etc and have only lost one knuckle so far.

A few bolts are far too rusty and will have to be ground off - which is a shame as i will now have to try and get them out and rethread - which i have never tried before!

18032011376.jpg

18032011378.jpg

18032011374.jpg

18032011377.jpg

18032011375.jpg

Hi Bruce,

Restoring a Scorpion is not too difficult, I prefer working on them to anything else. We are doing 2 Sabres at the moment.

http://hmvf.co.uk/forumvb/showthread.php?21491-CVR(T)-Sabre-49AT37/page2&highlight=49at37

Just do a bit at a time, little things like cleaning all the crap out of the inside make a big difference. I can tell from the engine colour that this is a Belgian vehicle, so has probably been stood for quite some time. Get a wet/dry vacuum cleaner in there and see what you can find under the floor of the turret.

Let me know if you need any bits, I can usually help out with most parts.

Chris

Thanks for advise - yes it is ex Belgium and yes it has been stood for a long time. Not sure what i will find under the water - is it a good idea to drill a couple of drain holes in the bottom of the hull to drain out water or will that spoil the project?

Going to try and get engine later???

Not sure how gearbox is removed - probably have to take drive sprokets off?

:nut:

Thanks for advise - yes it is ex Belgium and yes it has been stood for a long time. Not sure what i will find under the water - is it a good idea to drill a couple of drain holes in the bottom of the hull to drain out water or will that spoil the project?

Going to try and get engine later???