Why are we blessed with so much American WWII Kit ??.

Comrad

Although I'm relatively new to MV ownership, I have been going to Beltring for years.

When I go I'm always amazed by how much US WWII kit there is ?, far more than any British or German. OK so the Germans lost the war, (no offence to any German members) so I can assume a lot of the kit was destoryed or became unservicable due to lack of parts.

But why the lack of British kit were they run into the ground, or all just put on the ranges.

The main reason there are so many preserved WW2 US vehicles is because the USA supplied most European countries with equipment following WW2 and much of this kit was still in service into the 90's,for instance Norway didn't release it's last GMC CCKW's until about twelve years ago.

Another factor is our wonderful British weather which does nothing to help preserve a vehicle left outdoors for long.

Matt.

Another reason is that there was a desperate shortage of vehicles in Britain after 6 years of war and only a very small no of new vehicles built for essential civi services. All the war surplus trucks were snapped up by hauliers, farmers etc and almost all garages had a surplus 4x4 very often with a crane mounted in the load bed to use as a breakdown. The majority of them were driven into the ground and then scrapped. You must also take into account the huge no's of vehicles manufactured in the USA, 800,000

2.5 Ton 6x6 trucks and nearly 650,000 jeeps as examples.

The Lend Lease Act may also have had an effect on the quantity of vehicles/spares left in Europe after the War. As I understand it, very few vehicles made it back to the US after the War due to the intense lobbying of Uncle Sam, by the industrialists concerned about their future profit margins. So given the size of the US commitment to Europe, this meant vast quantities of vehicles and components were never repatriated.