Spraying Olive Drab paint - hardener or no hardener

paul connor

Question

Hi all, 

I always buy my paint from https://www.militaryvehiclepaint.co.uk as they always seem to get the shade I require, and paint can be very hit and miss to what you actually get , regardless of paint code.

My question is this, with an enamel paint, such as Olive Drab, do you personally add hardener or just spray as is? I have success with both, I was just curious if I should always be adding hardener to these products to create a tougher more durable finish?

Thank

Paul

4 answers to this question

Hi Paul

First do you want the paint to last or do you want to repaint every 5 to 10 years?  The problem is the flattener used in OD is a porous matierial that lets water into the paint.  Hardner make the paint dry quicker, get hard quicker and hardner by itself tends to make the paint shinny thus figthing the flattener.

One approach that I have been using for nearly 40 years is as follows:

First color coat is NON flattened enamal of chosen color with hardner added. Gives good sealer coat and shinney finish.

Second color coat is where you add the flattener, the trick is to put the second coat on at the minimum time between coats this give a very good bond of the two layers.

Now having said this and gotten very good results on a number of trucks over the 40 years, I've also used very good paint mostly Dupont Centary.  I've gotten a very close match to the original colors on my CMP HUP, if anybody wants the Dupont paint mix numbers will be glad to share them.  One last point with this approach is that the color match is from one batch to another is very good, even with paint 5 years apart.

One of the advantages that I have noted with using this approach is that the paint jobs with hardened first layer seem to resists scratches from brush on trail rides.

Hope you will this information helpful