WW1 Opel to identify

Gradez

Dear readers,

in a stash of WW I photographs I found a picture of a german WW I lorry, obviously an Opel. But does anybody recognize the exact type/model?

And furthermore, what about the markings? What does A.M.K.K. mean? Armee Motor Kraftfahr Kolonne? Or anything else? If so, does anyone know, in which theatre of operations A.M.K.K. 816 was deployed? And what does the "Str. 3162" on the licence plate (?) stand for.

I have very little knowledge about Imperial German motor equipment, or the organisation of German army transport during the great war, so please be gentle, if these question might be stupid or have been discussed several times before.

Oh, by the way it says just "Opel Lastauto" on the back, which can be roughly translated with "Opel lorry".

Any help will be highly appreciated.

please.jpg

Gradez

Oh, by the way it says just "Opel Lastauto" on the back, which can be roughly translated with "Opel lorry".

Any help will be highly appreciated.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]102337[/ATTACH]

Gradez

Hi Gradez,

I am not convinced that it is an OPEL even though it is written on the back of the photo. I think it may be a NAG. (National Automobil-Gesellschaft AG) from Berlin. This one may be about 1917. They later merged with Bussing. The radiator certainly looks NAG as does the front axle.

Regards Rick.

There's a restored 1915 Opel in Museum Sinsheim that look very much like the one you show . . . 4-cyl, vol 7.1 (cwt??), 50 hp according to the photo. Other sources indicate that Open made 3-t trucks, but don't give model numbers. Would appreciate it if you'd share any drawings you may come up with as I can find very few of WW1 German vehicles.

Bosun Al

There's a restored Would appreciate it if you'd share any drawings you may come up with as I can find very few of WW1 German vehicles.

Bosun Al