19 Set Renovation

AmphibAndy

I am just refurbishing my Dingo , recently purchased, which has its original fitment 19 set, PSU control boxes all fitted. However, they have suffered the ravages of time and weather and to look their best could really do with a refurb. It has always amazed me that some collectors seem to get their 19 sets looking like new, the panels are scratch free and the stickers/decals with the instructions on are all perfect. Question is therefore, can you buy this sort of stuff and simply rub down the front covers and respray them, or is there someone out there who can refurb the cosmetics ? Sorry if its sounds a bit of a simple question but I am new to radios although I have owned them for years, just never taken any notice of them!

Post photos please!

(Most of the sets that look new are probably unissued (US lend lease) or REME workshop rebuilds. I don't think the US or Canadian decal sets were available in any great quantity and the British sets had silk-screened lettering when new or rebuilt (or hand painted/rubber stamped lettering for partial rebuilds)).

Chris.

Dingo 19 set shouldn't have decals because they are on Canadian or USA sets. The best possible combination is:

- British Mk III T 19 set (normal ones are difficult to find, but this is nearly impossible to find, that's why most have Can. sets)

- Canadian Mk III PU (viberator version make less noise when receiver is working)

- Vario meter with special adaptor to go through the hull straight into the A set aerial support bracket.

Regards

Peter Hommes

www.milmarket.org

Edited by monty2

Dingo 19 set shouldn't have decals because they are on Canadian or USA sets. The best possible combination is:

- British Mk III T 19 set (normal ones are difficult to find, but this is nearly impossible to find, that's why most have Can. sets)

- Canadian Mk III PU (viberator version make less noise when receiver is working)