Royal Artillery & 8th Army Photos - Help please with Grandads history

Wolfy

I’d be very grateful if anyone can help me with my Grandfather Henry Dance RA history as I’m no expert on this.

I would really like to paint my Jeep in his units markings if possible. I’m trying to piece it together, below are service photos of him.

5th AA Div School of Gunnery Course H1. I think this is Reading where he was from.

Bedford QL I think. Whats the filled in 'P' on the door and S2B ?

B IHQ 24 Whats this? What would the colours on the board be?

8th Army shoulder badges, desert clothes, photo taken in Bologna?

Desert clothes again.

Grandad has 8th Army badges, others dont?

Known Facts –

• Served in the Royal Artillery from 39-45
  • Went to Anzio and was in Italy in 1944
  • Drove a truck towing a gun.
  • Born and lived in Reading, Berks.

My assumptions (but could be way off) –

• He stayed in the 5th Light Anti Aircraft Division and was aligned to the 24th Field Artillery Unit in Alexandria – Sub HQ
  • In the 5th LAA he drove the Bedford QL and towed a Bofors 40mm AA gun.
  • An Artillery division would have had several Jeeps?

Has anyone got any ideas on this and what markings would be suitable for my Jeep, any info at all would be fascinating and gratefully received.

Many Thanks

Colt

Grandad Dance 5th AA Div.jpg

Grandad Dance Bedford QL.jpg

Grandad IHQ 24.jpg

Grandad Dance 8th Colour.jpg

Grandad 3.jpg

Grandad Team.jpg

I live in Reading. If you can give me any details of where he lived and any other details about Reading, I will see what I can find out. Also, my Uncle, Charles Sage, was in the Royal Artillery in HAA and served in Italy as a Lieutenant after being in the Cadets at Reading School.

I noticed that the photos show the 1939-45 star, which was issued before the other campaign medals and before the end of the war (can't remember the exact date, but I can find out).

Degsy, thankyou I already learnt something :laugh: