Hello from Greece

Fyll

Hello all,

I came across the forum while looking for info on the quad Polsten AA mount.

I've been interested in military vehicles for many years. My interest started from plastic modeling.

I live in Athens in Greece and I am a technical translator.

Over the years I've written articles for some magazines here in Greece and also for Tankette, the MAFVA journal.

If anybody needs info on MVs from Greece or Cyprus I may be able to help as I've collected a lot of info and photos over the years. Also if anybody is thinking of holiday in this part of the world I can tell them where to find MV related places such as museums and scrap-yards...

Fyll

Welcome to the forum Fyll . We've not heard very much about your part of the world here before so anything you have to say will be of great interest to us and particularly any photographs of vehicles you may like to post up . I've been thinking about buying one of the ex Greek M170 jeeps so any pictures of those will keep me happy . :)

Welcome Fyll to the very friendly forum.

I'm planning a trip to Greece sometime next year and some addresses to Military Vehicle dealers, sights to see, etc, would be extremely helpful.

I saw some pictures from a MV dealers yard in Athens, with Ford M8's among other stuff. Do you know which one I'm talking about?

I own a 1945 (Febr) Dodge WC51 that I bought from the Norwegian army in April 1994. I've been to Normandy twice, 1994 and this year, with it. It's marked as an ambulance (yes there were WC51's used as ambulances) of the Brazilian Expeditionary Force under Gen Clark's 5th Army in Ialy 1944-45.

My e-mail: goran_noren (at) yahoo (dot) com

Kindest regards

Goran Noren

Lidingo

Sweden

DodgeWC51 Normandy_BW_MG_6186.jpg

Hello all

Thanks for your kind welcome. I hope I can answer all your questions.

Tim, as far as I've been able to find out there aren't any WWI vehicles surviving in Greece. What there was probably finished off in WWII I guess.