Jump to content

1st Jan 1942


Recommended Posts

The First members were:-


Republic of China • Union of Soviet Socialist Republics • United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland • United States of America • Belgium • Canada • Costa Rica • Cuba • Czechoslovakia • Dominican Republic • El Salvador • Greece • Guatemala • Haiti • Honduras • India • Luxembourg • Netherlands • New Zealand • Nicaragua • Norway • Panama • Poland • South Africa • Yugoslavia


These 26 were joined later that year by three more countries:-Mexico • Philippine Commonwealth • Ethiopia


1943 saw Iraq • Brazil • Bolivia • Iran • Colombia sign up


1944 Both Liberia and France joined the United Nations


1945 saw Peru • Chile • Paraguay • Venezuela • Uruguay • Turkey • Egypt • Saudi Arabia • Lebanon • Syria • Ecuador also join.


These parties pledged to uphold the Atlantic Charter, to employ all their resources in the war against the Axis powers, and that none of the signatory nations would seek to negotiate a separate peace with Nazi Germany or Japan in the same manner that the nations of the Triple Entente had agreed not to negotiate a separate peace with any or all of the Central Powers in World War I under the Unity Pact.


Australia joined by signing the U.N.Charter in 1945.

Edited by antarmike
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...