Belated Hello

79x100

First of all, my apologies for breaching etiquette by jumping in and posting without even pausing to introduce myself. To be honest I followed a link from another forum and just waded in.

I am an Englishman living in Belgium and am restoring a Norton 16H which was abandoned here by the BEF in 1940. The fact that the original markings and gas detector paint etc. are still discernible has started me on research into vehicle markings and because the unit (HQ RE 2nd Infantry Div) is traceable, I am now reading everything I can find on the BEF campaign.

My background is motorcycles rather than military vehicles although I did run an lhd 109" series 3 Landrover for a while. It had spent it's service life as a reserve vehicle at Recklinghausen.

I am an inactive MVT member who nevertheless enjoys reading the magazine.

Is there anyone else on the forum with a special interest in 1939 / 40 British equipment ?

Rich.

(Sometimes call myself Rik as it's easier for the Flemish to pronounce).

Hi Rich and Welcome!

I wouldn't worry about etiquette,we're not a formal lot here! your 16H sounds interesting,was it hidden from the Germans if the original markings are intact? I must admit I've always had a soft spot for the 16H but have never owned one,someday day perhaps.

Cheers!

Matt.

Thanks for the welcome.

I think that my bike was dragged off and hidden by a local as it had been roughly covered with a coat of black paint. Similar stories are not uncommon here and I have read that the BEF abandoned some 20,000 motorcycles alone so perhaps that is not surprising.

Sadly, the bike has been robbed of it's engine and transmission so was more of a rolling chassis really. That is also perhaps not so surprising as the land is very low lying and almost everybody has a cellar. Pumps are always in great demand and Nortons sold the 16H motor for agricultural use post-war so it is certainly suitable for that sort of thing.