Creating a database

fv1609

Anyone got any tips on creating a database, I am wrestling with Access at present & it is all alien I just read chapter after chapter & its just like reading a PC book for the first time, frightening days!

The problem is I have at least 5000 documents recorded in Word documents. What I want to be able to do is record the various document codes, type of document, subject & date. So I can fish out everything say on exhaust pipes or ferrets or everything published in a given year.

I have just drawn up some columns of what I want & paste in the existing line I have from Word & select bits out & paste into each column. This takes 5 min. To do all of these it would take 2.5 weeks of non-stop work :cry:

Does anybody have any ideas of automating this or any programme other than Excel that might do it?

Aha - now you are in my territory as I'm an Oracle DBA by trade!!! :D

As a home user - unless you have excess capacity on your machine (*), then the Access database is the best route to follow. You have a number of routes available here as regards sorting the documents - these include (in theory) using the meta tags of the documents themselves for dynamic searches.

The basic method, I'd have used, starting from scratch, involves assigning unique keywords to the documents then assigning the document file names to these key words. However you say you have started using an Excel sheet - well you can either use the Excel sheet as a search reference or import the sheet into a table within Access and search via that.

Sounds a bit confusing, I know, but with practice it gets a lot easier. If I can help you with the donkey work/setting up at all feel free to ask.

(*) IF you do have excess capacity then you can down load Oracle 9 Lite/personal edition free from the http://www.oracle.com web site - this allows you to include the content of the Word documents within the data base itself.

Neil