Help With A C number Triumph 3HW

bikermoss

Can anyone help me with working out a appropriate tank number for my Triumph 3 SW/HW.

The bike is early SW frame with the number 'TL 9284'  around the top of the headstock and has a later 3HW engine '3HW 52767'.

The engine according to 'Orchard and Maddens' book seems to fall into contract number 'S2956' 5000 machines Dec 43 to June 44.

No problem there, could have been a military exchange or at anytime replaced in the past 70 odd years, either way not bothered as

better than the earlier side valve. I am copying the bike on page '189 or 137' of said book depending which version you have.

I would like to put a C number on the tank that roughly corresponds with the frame number but it would appear that this is in the period

either before or after the the Triumph factory was bombed and records etc were lost.

I think I am about right in placing the frame at around contract number C4631/C5108 but I am no expert at this dating especially with the 

difficulty with all the record gaps during this period.

A question I do have is....the numbers of machines produced from C2073 ( 1st Contract 3SW) to C5108 do not appear to add up to the number

on my frame or is this not how it worked...?

Any suggestions, confirmations of of my findings or just a ;

"Get on with it and stick any number from that time period on the tank"

Will be greatly appreciated......." HAPPY NEEW YEAR...!!

Chris

Chris at that time 1939, they were still producing several different civilian models all using that same frame, so the WD numbers won't follow in sequence.