WW2 - army level vehicle markings

john fox

Pardon my ignorance and point me to whereever if this is old hat

I have a Morris 15cwt C8 which i would like to mark up as a Pioneer Corps vehicle in WW2. I think the Pioneers were always an army unit rather than divisional so can anyone confirm this and help with the markings it would use. I want to do 2nd Army in NW Europe so an guessing the white shield with blue cross (RHS or LHS??) and what else???

Cheers

John

I am no expert on this but I do have a copy of "British Military Markings 1939 - 1945" by Hodges & Taylor. This is by far the most detailed source that I have found.

Pioneer Corps NW Europe 1944 appear to have been a 21st Army Group Asset and would therefore have carried Blue Cross on Red as Formation Sign.

Arm of Service Flash for PC was Green over Black, horizontally divided with the usual white bar to indicate Army, Corps or GHQ troops.

The following possibilities are listed:-

White Bar diagonal, bottom to top, serial no. 761 - Army Group troops.

White Bar diagonal, top to bottom, serial no. 1610 - GHQ troops.

White Bar diagonal, bottom to top, serial no. 1611 - Army Group troops.

White Bar diagonal, bottom to top, serial no. 1821 - Army Group troops.

White Bar Horizontally Under, serial no. 2651 - Army troops.

Also listed are Pioneer Salvage Units at Corps level, carrying Unit serial no.85 in conjunction with appropriate corps insignia and presumably with the white bar above the Arm of Service flash to indicate Corps asset.

I can find no indication as to which specific units were allocated the serial no.s and it is not clear if any of these units were Canadian.

Hope this helps, if I find anything else, I will post it.

John,

Sorry to say that the book is out of print but is not that old - published December 1994 by Cannon Publications. ISBN 1 899695 00 1