sankey tool trailer

hi guys, im new to the forum and kind of new to the hobby.

im a builder by trade and the first thing i would like to collect is a sankey tool trailer, i have seen one for sale on mod sales and it looks really nice and practical with the top that lifts up and displays all the tools, just wondering if anyone had any photo's of a trailer full of tools all set up.

cheers craig

Craig,

I have had 2 of these trailers, and have looked at loads at Withams over the years. I have not yet seen one which has been released with any tools in it. The earlier ones were built as communication trailers, in various different configurations, in the early 70s.

When Larkspur radios were phased out of service they were passed to the RAF who turned them into Aircraft Battle Damage Repair (ABDR) trailers. Each one was different depending on who had converted it and what for. I had one which was used for sheet metal repairs on Jaguars and was full of rivets etc, but no tools.

The ones which Withams have for sale at the moment date from the 90s, I suspect these were built in this configuration from new. Again you won't find one for sale with the tools in it, but most of the tools will probably be standard items. The ABDR trailers seem to have generally been kept inside and the one I sold recently was in excellent condition.

I hope this helps,

Chris

• 2 months later...

Hi Guys,

I bought the one from witham.

4415691.jpg

4415702.jpg

4415720.jpg

4415732.jpg

4415753.jpg

I am looking for all kinds of documentation from this type of trailer. I have been told that these probably didn't have a separate handbook. But like I just said, everything on these trailers is useful to me.

Does anyone know what the flap on the side of the trailer was used for? Also what was the lockable glass thing on front used for? (with the 'not for use on public highways text).

4418459.jpg

4418436.jpg

4418450.jpg

4418625.jpg