Ray White

Hello everyone.  I am joining this forum because I would like to have a chat with anyone who owns or who has owned a Bedford RL.  I have seen these rugged vehicles in various guises so I thought perhaps there was an owners club but I can't seem to find one.  One thing that has puzzled me is that a few years ago they seemed plentiful - with many having very low mileage - but now they seem to have virtually disappeared.

I wonder where they have all gone?

Ray.

RLs gone abroad ? 

That reminds me of when I was a student (many years ago) and there were two hippy type guys who had two ex Army RLs.  One was fully equipped with masses of spare parts and plenty of extra fuel  while the other was kitted out as a mobile tent.  These two fellas were setting off for India where they hoped to find "spiritual fulfilment"!

I have no idea whether they ever made it or not.!! 🥴

(BTW...good to chat with you again Rootes75 !)

Edited by Ray White

1 hour ago, Ray White said:

RLs gone abroad ? 

That reminds me of when I was a student (many years ago) and there were two hippy type guys who had two ex Army RLs.  One was fully equipped with masses of spare parts and plenty of extra fuel  while the other was kitted out as a mobile tent.  These two fellas were setting off for India where they hoped to find "spiritual fulfilment"!

I have no idea whether they ever made it or not.!! 🥴

(BTW...good to chat with you again Rootes75 !)

Hi Ray, good you've made it on here. Its a nice group.

A lot of the RLs would have been support vehicles for the AFS Green Goddess pumps which had nominal mileage from undergoing routine inspection. They were stored in ideal conditions with the wheels removed, custom made wooden blocks to keep the weight off the springs and generator control boxes removed for safe keeping. I bought nine at auction in about 1990 for just under a grand each and most ended up abroad.

You could try the owners club RSOLES for more information.

Edited by radiomike7