Box of bits 3HW project

Freddurrant

Hi everyone,

New to the forum and quite amazed my the info in here. I have been given my Dad’s old 3HW ‘box of bits’ which I have set myself the challenge of making back into a functioning and well restored motorbike. Let’s just say it’s had a very hard life, been in bits for at least 25 years snd is not complete. I’m also new to motorbikes though an experienced old Landy owner snd modifyer. I’m working my way through the 3HW posts which contain a wealth of answers to question I have but by way of introduction I’ve attached some pictures.

I’m in need of so many bits so if anyone has pieces around that would be great to hear. Off the top of my head these include:

New fork spring, steering damper components, spring damper spring washer and hand wheel, carburettor, mud guards, both front and rear brake arms (the lever on the wheel hubs), a 1” handlebar, brake and clutch levers, throttle grip, handlebar mounts.

Yes I know it is a lot. Good job I’m pretty good at machining.........

Fred

CFB309DD-0789-4ED3-BD63-D834F761126A.jpeg

5EAABFA9-47A1-4143-83D7-374EAA530B2D.jpeg

C85AD72D-DF6D-4AB1-98B6-341C96A52965.jpeg

Hi Fred . Welcome to the. Forum great looking project .probably a great way to start and give you some inspiration is to give you some history on the bike. If you look at the seatpost you should have a frame date in the form TE0844...also ok should have a visible.frame number on the frame front prefixed TL..

The engine will be stamped.3HE and have an engine number plus potentially a number beginning with C

Please.share photos of these areas.as.we can use them to give you some history and possibly the number the bike would have had on its tank in the war.

Also if you have Any history on where the bike came from that would be great.