Introduction - Greetings from the USA!

Hello everyone! I'm Zeke Hocking. 

I am a twenty-something recent university graduate, in anthropology, that spends far too much time reading, researching, and learning about military history, particularly that of the UK in the time since, well, the USA declared its independence. I find the immediate post-Second World War period and the Cold War to be interesting from a collector and historical perspective due to all the twists and turns (large and small) that occurred as the British Empire was dismantled (?, I don't have a good single word to describe the process, hence my interest hah!) over the course of 50-odd years. TL;DR: Wars and conflicts of decolonization are a big part of my "jam," both for books, gear, and esoteric pieces of knowledge.

I also enjoy learning about, collecting, and shooting military surplus firearms in a manner that utilizes period tests and measurements to challenge the rifles, pistols, and my own skills using them. Having an accompanying interest in military equipment and clothing is neat because it allows me to look absurd at public shooting ranges and always have a topic of conversation other than the firearms themselves (I have the BritishMuzzleloaders channel to thank for that!). 

That all being said, this forum has let me expand my knowledge on these subjects quite a bit when I was not a registered user. Feel free to chat if you have any questions or comments (I am not actually pedantic in the sense of being an "expert;" while I have learned a lot, I also realize that my knowledge is dwarfed by the sheer enormity of the subjects that interest me.). 

I'm looking forward to my time on the forum.

• Like 1

• 3 months later...

Nice to make your acquaintance teletech and TonyB!