Willys MB/GPW wanted

JPMulders

Hi guys, just found your forum and enjoyed all the great historical stuff brought to life again. After some post war restoration projects, Unimog 404s mainly, I want to realize my dream of restoring a WW2 vehicle. I got a workshop and I am an engineer so I am able to handle a nice challenge but what I really need is people who know people and they know people etc... I am new to the WW2 community but have spent many hours on browsing and watching YouTube, calling and e-mailing around, visiting other hobbyists, etc just to get myself know and come across a nice opportunity. I do not want to start with a huge or expensive exclusive project but ready to invest and get started well. So currently my goal is to find a honest original complete Willys/GPW 42-45. bodywork, mechanicals, etc I can manage but it should not be a heap of scrap. (Hard time to explain the wife that I burned 10k on a rusty bunch of parts). It should also be a complete jeep in order to prevent a cash drain on sourcing parts to complete it.

Plan is to rebuild the car from scratch and as original as possible. (I know this costs). Matching numbers would be a great deal of course but I am aware of motorpool swaps that might be more realistic. 

So a long story short, If you know somebody selling a project, let me know. Transport can be arranged so I look in the US and all over Europe. I found a good list of middle men and importers that I contacted but so far nothing much. I appreciate all the help, tips and tricks.

Thanks and greetings from The Netherlands!

JP

Greetings from The Netherlands

Welcome to the forum and good luck with your search for a vehicle. From watching adverts over the last few years, Jeeps now seem to fall into two categories - those up and running demanding high prices and complete wrecks needing a lot of time and money spent on them. All the "running restorations" seem to have long gone.