Decommissioned Challenger 2 - do they fall apart?

challenger01

Question

Hello! I'm afraid I'm new to the world of military vehicles but I am working on a project involving a decommissioned Challenger 2 and have a query that I hope someone can help me with! 

I've been told that the Challenger 2 is designed to keep moving and if it is stationary for a long period of time (i.e. it's been decommissioned and perhaps is being shown in an exhibition or similar) then it will start to fail and fall apart. Is this correct? If so, does this literally mean that parts of the vehicle will start to fall off? I want to try and understand the risks of this and if they need to be monitored in order to be safe?

Sorry if this is a stupid question! Thanks in advance for any help.

14 answers to this question

On 23 May 2019 at 2:02 PM, challenger01 said:

Hello! I'm afraid I'm new to the world of military vehicles but I am working on a project involving a decommissioned Challenger 2 and have a query that I hope someone can help me with! 

I've been told that the Challenger 2 is designed to keep moving and if it is stationary for a long period of time (i.e. it's been decommissioned and perhaps is being shown in an exhibition or similar) then it will start to fail and fall apart. Is this correct? If so, does this literally mean that parts of the vehicle will start to fall off? I want to try and understand the risks of this and if they need to be monitored in order to be safe?

Sorry if this is a stupid question! Thanks in advance for any help.

Sorry to see no one has answered your question, so I will show willing, even though I am pretty ignorant on Chall 2.