ARMY Slang or phrases list?

webkitlover

Question

Hi just doing a little reseach for some veteran friends, I want to try to make an extensive list of Army RAF and Navy slang and phrases from the 70's onwards.

I've remembered quite there are loads on line wikipeadia and ARRSE have a selection

https://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/Appendix:Glossary_of_British_military_slang_and_expressions

https://www.arrse.co.uk/wiki/Army_Slang

I remember there were loads more for example what was the phrase for

Underpants? was it keks, skivvies,

and there are some phrases you don't hear anywhere else like:

"Don't call me Sir, I work for a living" (if you called anyone less than an officer, Sir).

But can't remember all of them, can you think of any more words or phrases you used or kew of? localised ones?

cheers

2 hours ago, Tarland said:

Have a look online for Rick Jolly's book "Jackspeak" - covers RN/Royals

He compiled it whilst serving at RNAS Culdrose after the Falklands - pretty much the definitive list for the Senior Service

True, great read

On 3/31/2019 at 10:10 AM, Bob Grundy said:

A Training Area was known as 'the cud'. A rifle a 'bondook', Cpl Jones mentioned it an episode of Dads Army. Modern soldiers apparently don't use this nickname.

Bob, bondook is new to me but apparently  ' It originates from India and is still used in parts of the British Army that has served in India'

Edited by radiomike7
  • Like 1

Might be a localised thing, I never heard a rifle reffered to as a "Boondock", you'd almost certainly end up doing press-ups, if you did! It was bad enough if you even said "SA80", or "SLR" it didn't matter what Gun you were issued you were obliged to call it "Rifle".

As for training areas, "Cud"?...naah, again not heard of it.