removal Snatch LandRover Gearbox

bonnie_scott

Hi,

Anyone out there have any experience in removing the gearbox from a Snatch Land Rover?

I'm in the process of stripping out the seat base, on the basis that in a standard Landy you can remove the floor to access the gearbox. But the more I remove, look and prod, the less it looks like the floor will come out.

Do I have to remove the gearbox from underneath? Is it possible to remove all the bolts holding the bellhousing to the engine? Or do I need to remove engine and gearbox together.

Any and all advice gratefully recieved.

Cheers,

Julian

Julian,

Im no expert but when I helped a friend of mine with his 90, we removed the gearbox cross member and dropped it down, we removed the bellhousing cover to gain assess to the bellhousing bolts. Might be different for a snatch? Does it have a removable gearbox crossmember?

Hope this helps a little

Cheers

Alex

Might be worth registering with the EMLRA forum...there is excellent information on there specifically related to all things Land Rover and 1 or 2 people have first hand experience with Snatch Land Rovers...

good source for spares too....

cheers

Mike

Right,

do you really need to remove it ?

the only way is to remove from underneath , unless you can lift off the 1.2 tons of body from the cab floor....which will in turn need removing.

If your hi-low and diff lock are seized then you are best to remove the box because space underneath is tight to access.

If its just your handbrake seized , the job is possible to do with box in situ as is replacing transfer box.

All the above mentioned jobs I have done.

I would suggest a 4 post ramp that will lift 2.7 tons of snatch is the best option in removing the gearbox , however railway sleepers a 3 ton trolley jack a good engine hoist and a friend whom has plenty of spare time and patience and you wil achieve the same result.