Clive Elliott Interview...

Jack

• Replies 89
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Same here!

I love the vehicles as an engineer, I have cause to remember what it is they were built for and what they were actually used for (not always the same thing...)

And above all cause to know that the reality of war is far, far removed from the re-enactment scene - there is no glory or "gung-ho" in the reality of war and if the true sights, sounds and smells were portrayed no one would watch. Theyd be too busy barfing up their last few meals.....

However - I do feel renactment has a useful part to play in history in the same way as the Ermine Street Guard aids understanding of Roman ways - but staged battles need to reflect more closely the mix of forces & equipment involved, we have enough problems with Hollywood rewriting history without aiding them.

Just my tuppence worth here......

Real pleasure reading Clive's remark's

I must agree as I find a lot of re-enactors slightly worrying, why does anyone need to portray Das Reich I'm sure th survivors of Oradour would have a comment or two!!

I have looked at a number of German re-enactor sites and a little disturbed...

I'm sure there will be a lively debate.

Living history fine and the groups I've seen fantastic, history brought to life and the public from what I have seen are fascinated.

The reenactments I feel are an excuse to have a pyro displayand play WAR which sorry ain't a game trust me it hurts..

Regards HardyFerret

I have made my views clear on this in the past and must admit that some of the re enactors are not helping themseslves, their hobby or mine very much.

If you take a look at

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s5LImE5pAcc&mode=related&search=